Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Question about lens tilt on 4x5

Len - www.lenbruffett.com

Question about lens tilt on 4x5

Hi,

I have been shooting B&W film for 30 years and converted from 2 1/4" to 4x5, 4 years ago. Most of my images are landscapes - and I rarely have to tilt my front lens to control focus for near and far field focus. I have done this successfully for a number of images, but this last summer I made 4 images at the base of Mt Williamson in the eastern Sierra Nevada. In the attached image the near field and infinity are focused - BUT there is a 3/4" wide band across the entire middle of the image that is slightly out of focus. Does anyone have any ideas what may have caused this? I may have not closed the lens down enough.... I remember using f22 . But at the time of making the image I concerned about using a fast enough shutter speed - the clouds were moving fast. I have successfully made images for the same scene in the past using the same technique of lens tilting and using a greater f stop. I am pretty sure it is not my film holders - because it was defect across 4 images. Thanks in advance for any advice or answers to my problem.

Regards,
    Len
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails june_mt_williamson_sm.jpg  

Re: Question about lens tilt on 4x5

I am thinking you have focused on the top of the foreground rocks and the top of the mountain, with tilt and the plane is insufficiently flat.

Quote Originally Posted by cowanw View Post
    I am thinking you have focused on the top of the foreground rocks and the top of the mountain, with tilt and the plane is insufficiently flat.
    The region of adequate sharpness isn't a plane, it expands from near to far.