Thread: beseler drums

beseler drums

anyone use beseler drums for developing sheet film if so did you have any problems and what did they look like thanks

beseler drums

Robert, I've been using them for about 5 years and do not have any complaints. I use Tmax film with Tmax RS developer 1:9 dilution ratio for 10 minutes at 75 degrees. I'm quite pleased with the results I've been getting.

beseler drums

I've been using print drums on a motor base for a few years now.

The ease of use, consistancy, and quality is way better than tank or tray processing in my opinion. Note that I only process small batches of 4-6 sheets at a time.

One thing to remember is that processing times are usually shorter, like 10-25%. So a little experimentation is required to get the right time.

beseler drums

I've been using the Beseler 8 x 10 drum on the Beseler motirized base for about three years now. I do 2-4 sheets of 4 x 5 film at a time, using 6-8 oz of solution. I had to experiment a bit to determine the proper development time, but since I scan the negatives, that is not hypercritical for me. The only problem I've had is not seating the film properly so that there is overlap and uneven development. But by being careful, I've learned to avoid that problem.