Thread: Shutter wont cock - Synchro-Compur 1 M/X

Shutter wont cock - Synchro-Compur 1 M/X

I recently purchased a LINHOF SCHNEIDER KREUZNACH TECHNIKA. 1:5,5/270MM off ebay and the shutter wont cock. Everything else seems ok. The Shutter release doesn't seem stuck and functions.

I'm fairly new to large format and wondering if there was some easy fix that I am unaware of. Otherwise I guess it goes out for repair. is there a shop you all would recommend on the west coast?

Thanks.

Re: Shutter wont cock - Synchro-Compur 1 M/X

Yes. The mechanism is dried-up and/or dirty, and stuck. The naptha or alcohol trick may solve the problem, but the shutter speeds will still be inaccurate. Service is the best remedy.

If u live in Portland or Seattle; there a camera shop name "Photo world" that they can provide infos that u need. Alternative, open the lens and take out the slow speed gear and soak it in gasoline over light; clean up all the dirt.

Send it to Carol Miller in Whittier, CA. Soaking in fluid may free the works but you will be left with a shutter that is bereft of lubrication and likely badly calibrated. Carol will clean it, lubricate it, and adjust it (CLA) for $50 -$60. She will include a table with the shutter speeds at each setting. However, expect the faster speeds to be slower than design. It is an old shutter and you cannot expect factory specs. Without a CLA, you are shooting craps. I am also very skeptical of dousing a complex mechanism in fluid and expecting a good result. Some folks may have had good results doing so and saved a few dollars but wouldn't you rather have a shutter that has been "fixed". Think about it, we spend lots of money on cameras, lenses, film, and darkroom supplies but, yet, some will cheap out on the one item that, without consistency, will ruin lots of exposures. Just one man's opinion.