Thread: 4x5 processing

4x5 processing

I'm new to 4x5 processing and I have been having a difficult time with my processing. I'm using D76 kodak stop bath and kodak fixer. I used these recently while processing Agfa APX 100 film. My results were 2 neg's ok and the others were thin showing hardly any detail at all. I use a Yankee daylight tank and process 6 sheets at a time. Process time 12 minutes in 68 degree solution. Could someone give me some pointers as to what may be the problem and what literature would be of great use to a novice such as myself? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks again. Tom

4x5 processing

This sounds like a fairly straightforward problem to solve. From the information you give regarding time and temperature of development, plus the fact that 2 negs were okay, it seems like there are two places to look.

I speak from personal failure, er, ah, experience.

First, especially since some work seems okay, is that you made a simple metering and/or placement error. That is, you didn't get the luminance of the important shadow areas measured correctly, or if you did, you didn't place it correctly. By "place it correctly" I mean, (1) if you are thinking along the lines of the Zone System, that you thought of the shadow area as Zone I or II, too dark for holding shadow detail, or (2) that, if using filters, you didn't adjust the indicated exposure by the amount needed for the specific filter (this can make 1 - 3 stops difference), or (3) you just set the shutter/aperture wrong. I have made all these mistakes as recently as May and June of this year....