Thread: Deardorff 10x12 back

Deardorff 10x12 back

Hi guys and gals

I saw on a YouTube video a 10x12 back fitted onto a Dorff V8. This appeals as a wetplate photographer I have plate holders and backs (mostly international backs from other cameras) 5x4, half plate/5x7, whole plate and of course 10x8. Does anyone have one of these backs that could send me measurements which I could give to my woodwork guy? You can see one at 1min into this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTXuO9MRfR4&sns=em

Thanks

John

Re: Deardorff 10x12 back

Which dimensions do you need please John. I have a Deardorff 10x12 back but it is buried and I would prefer not to dig it out if I do not need to. Not actually that sure where it is to be honest. I do however have a Dorf 10x12 reducing back to 10x8 to hand so the external dimensions could be got from that if those are the dimensions you need. Incidentally I am localish to you in West Kirby on the Wirral. The back is 14 1/2 inches square.

I have a worn Deardorff Studio 10x12 back. The outer dimension is much bigger than a field camera I think. I can find mine, which dims do you want, I guess there are three, T, width and rib distance.

Anything else before I do this?

Hi guys

Thanks for your responses. Just to be clear, I don't want you digging about looking for something that isn't what I'm after! The 10x12 back fits on the 8x10 camera by the four pins. It's an increasing rather than a reducing back if that makes sense. Is that what either of you guys have?

Must meet up Roger!

J

Hi John

I have a Deardorff 10x12 spring back which was once upon a time attached to the back of a Deardorff field camera. That is in the loft somewhere. I also have a Deardorff 10x12 to 8x10 reducing back which has the same external dimensions and presumably once fitted a similar if not the same camera.