Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ilford DDX Delta 100

Ilford DDX Delta 100

Hi
    Im new to 5x4 photography and was wondering if anyone out there had any experience on Ilford Delta 100 rated at 100 iso in DDX 20 oc
    I have used this combination many time before with roll and 35mm film but not with sheet film.
    Has anyone got anyl times for N+1 N+2 N-1 N-2 etc
    I understand this is the beauty of sheet film as each shot can be metered for the zones .
    Am i right in thinking that you meter for the shadow detail and develope for the highlights .
    Any Info please Ian

Re: Ilford DDX Delta 100

You can also try developing all negatives to a nominal contrast and printing with multigrade paper. That way each negative can still be open to multiple interpretations after being processed.

I don't use this film in 4x5 but I tested it once under the BTZS paradigm. Developed in tubes with DDX 1+6 at 68F, N was iso 100, 6:20, N+1 was iso 125, 12:00. The 4:00 time didn't quite reach N-1, but was about N-0.85 at iso of 80. Hope this helps, you mileage will surely vary.

Hi ic -racer
    What if the the highlights are outside the seven EV stops and are blown out

Quote Originally Posted by ian Humphrey View Post
    Hi ic -racer
    Adjusting paper grade, adjusts how many stops from the scene/how much of the negative can be "straight" printed. Softer paper can print a wider range, more stops from the scene.

The other way to get at the highlight detail on the negative is to "burn" in the sky.
    You can't depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus. ~ Mark Twain

If there were only 7 EV of range for most B&W film we'd all be in trouble. As Mark pointed out in the previous post, the trick in all this is that film has more latitude than paper.

Quote Originally Posted by ian Humphrey View Post
    Hi ic -racer