Thread: Arca Swiss bellows lens combo

Arca Swiss bellows lens combo

I am new to 4x5 and recently purchased a used 4X5 Arca Swiss F-line Field camera. It came with a 30cm collapsible rail, a 25cm extension rail, as well as a 24cm bag bellows and a 50cm long bellows.

The information I have found on this camera is sketchy and varied as follows for the bag bellows:

Bag Bellows focus length----- B&H 43mm - 240mm.........thefstop f=35mm-150mm.........Badger f=35mm-150mm......... Arca Swiss brochure f=35mm-210mm........

If I read a recent large format email string on camera selection correctly, an individual suggested that one could focus a 210mm lens and another suggested that a 180mm lens was probably the max.

My dilemma is I have a 120mm Super SymmarHM and would like to pair it with a lens that is as long as I can use with the bag bellows. Depending on which length of lens I can really focus on my bag bellows, my choices would vary from a 180mm Fujinon A, a 200mm Nikkor M, or a 210 Apo Symmar. Any help on the real length of lens the bag bellows will focus, and any input my 2nd lens choice would be greatly appreciated (landscape & general photography).

Thanks to all of you who freely post your expertise and experiences on this board and on your own websites. Your sharing has been invaluable to me and has guided me up to his point in my equipment purchases, book selections and other large format reference materials.

which bag bellows? the 'bag" bag bellows or the leather pleated bag bellows? The latter give you more extension.

I am pretty sure I can use my 210 with the leather bag bellows - I'll check int he next day or so
    You'd be amazed how small the demand is for pictures of trees... - Fred Astaire to Audrey Hepburn

www.photo-muse.blogspot.com blog