Thread: Confused about 300mm lens vs. 150mm lens

Confused about 300mm lens vs. 150mm lens

Hello everyone,

I am just starting out in LF, and I am trying to determine which focal length lens is right for me. I know this much: 150mm lens are standard for LF and that a normal lens for LF has more focusing flexibility than a camera with a static back.

I have found a used camera that I like, but it comes with a 300mm lens...which leads me to my question: So what is the defining characteristic of a 300mm lens? What is it most often used for? How close and far away can I move from my subject and still be able to get things in focus? What can't you do with a 300mm lens? I really just do not understand the significance of the lens measurement...

Any insight will be greatly appreciated!! Thank you very much for your time. Bye, Kelli

Photo Dilettante Donald Brewster's Avatar

Well it depends. What is the size of the camera? 150mm is in the "standard" range for a 4x5 camera, and 300mm is in the "standard" range for an 8x10 camera, roughly comparable to a 50mm lens on a 35mm camera. 300mm could be used as a portrait lens for a 4x5 camera. The other parameters you seek differs among lenses based upon their design. You need to be more specific with the size of the camera and the name of the lens.

Hello Kelli;