Thread: Plotting Film Speed test

Plotting Film Speed test

After running a film speed and zone test how do I plot the results. I have acess to a densitometer. Do you have to convert your expousures to LOG? Any suggestions about a good but simple book on Doing your own d/ logE Curves? I am new to large format photography. Shooting with a Burke & James press camera. Thanks> kenn

Plotting Film Speed test

Kenn,

Use regular graph paper. Scale the vertical axis in units of 0.10 density and the horizontal axis in full Zone units of exposure (i.e., 0, I, II, III, etc.). On the graph, the vertical distance of 0.30 density units should equal the same physical horizontal distance of one Zone. In other words, scale the graph physically so that one stop (zone) of exposure equals 0.30 density units, two stops equals 0.60 density, etc., and a line at a 45-degree angle originating at (Zone 0, 0.0 density) would go through the intersection points (Zone I, 0.30), (Zone II, 0.60), etc. Hope that is clear.

Plotting Film Speed test

Kenn,

Oops. I forgot to answer another part of your question.

Plot your density values from the densitometer against the respective zone exposures you gave the film. I have an old X-rite (301?) densitometer that I can set to automatically subtract the film-base + fog density values so I end up plotting zone exposure against NET density (although you could also plot exposure against the full density of the image + fbf as many people do).