Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Loading holders

Random Pixel Generator

Loading holders

I have decided that I am phobic about loading film holders. I have a Linhof Master Technika, a nice array of lenses all on lens boards, film, dark cloth, loading tent, and the desire to shoot 4x5 film every now and then. I have shot a few Fugi-roid images with the Linhof so it's not a matter of not knowing how to use the camera. But when it comes time to load "real film" in holders I never seem to get to it. I have this stuff for years so I figured that it's time to ask for help.

Does anyone have any recommendations for learning to load holders. I'm afraid that I'll end up ruining a pack of film. I would rather hose the film up because I screwed up exposure, focus, or composition rather than during the loading process.

Re: Loading holders

It's all part of the process.. to me no different than making a mistake in any other part of the process.

Get a couple of ruined sheets and practice loading in daylight... then close your eyes...
    Robert Oliver

Excellent illustrated article here.

It's also good to rehearse your movements and memorize item locations in your loading area before turning off lights.
    Robert Oliver

Random Pixel Generator

"In order to finish, you have to start"

I guess I better start. I don't have any ruined sheets Robert. But I'm sure that I can ruin some

Thanks Jerry. I'll check out the video. Hopefully I'll be posting an LF image here some day. In 2013. I hope.

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Lloyd View Post
    I'll check out the video.
    Sorry about any confusion here. I edited my post to "article" NOT "video." Whenever I want to learn a technique I always prefer the "show me, don't just tell me" method.

Random Pixel Generator

It's all good. I'm reading through it now. Good stuff! Thanks for posting the link

I really liked the way he started off