Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What say you all to photo bigots.

What say you all to photo bigots.

Ok, just came back from a local art gallery. They had their annual juried show today and as usual all the photos were ignored. They are the only gallery close by were I can display and/or sell my work. I have been a member for the last five yrs and I get tired of these PhD art professor jurors telling how painters work so hard to create there work. This clown, talked to the gallery members how one of his students created 17 painting in one day. I was pissed.

Like many other photographers, I work just has hard or harder to produce a good image. I have been doing photography for about 45 years now to get to the skill that I am at now. My wife use to complain that I would disappear in the darkroom all day. For me to get the image that I want, sometimes it will take a year or more until the light is right. Getting chewed on my ticks, flies, chiggers and blood rained my misquotes comes with the territory. I like to see how long these paint slingers would last. To have these “art professionals” tell me painter work harder; it’s a good thing I had my nice hat on.

If I had the money I would start my own photo gallery.

Re: What say you all to photo bigots.

Quote Originally Posted by Milton Tierney View Post
    This clown, talked to the gallery members how one of his students created 17 paintings in one day. I was pissed.
    17 paintings in one day – I’d say that’s working pretty hard!

According to my notes, the most LF shots I’ve taken in one day (at separate tripod locations) is seven.

I have only myself to blame for such laziness. ;^(

Chuck 'em if they can't take a yolk!

Hell, why not just get a 70mm movie camera.

PhD art professor jurors
    Seems odd. By and large the universities have whole heartedly embraced photography as an art form since late 60s.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

at age 73:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,