Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Osprey Eclipse "+5" Backpacks

Osprey Eclipse "+5" Backpacks

Is anyone out there using an Osprey Eclipse "+5" backpack for a 4x5 kit? If so, what are your likes/dislikes? My kit would include a Wisner traditional, 2 lenses, meter, 2 boxes of quickload, quickload holder, some filters, jacket, misc. items. I was thinking of the 42+5 (top and front access) or the 32+5 (top and back access). Thanks. -Josh.

Before buying a packback check out the Lowepro Trekkor. Many lf photographers think this is a very good one.

steve simmons

I've been using an Osprey Eclipse 42 for a couple of years. The suspension system is first rate; I can and often do hike with it all day (say, 15 km, 1 km vertical rise) without problems. I carry a Toho 4x5, 10 film holders, four lenses, filters, meter, BTZS focusing hood, first aid kit, lunch, etc. and 2 or 3 liters of water. Full load, pack and all, is just over 16 Kg.

The 42+5 is new for 2004. But if it's anything like my 2001 model 42 (and it surely looks the same), I highly recommend it. I don't know why more LFers don't use this pack. It works extraordinarily well for LF.

And Steve, in comparison to the Osprey packs, the Lowepro "backpacks" are just padded boxes with straps attached. If you want to climb up the trails and go bouldering with your 4x5, you need a pack that moves with you, is adjustable to the point of real comfort, and that doesn't play havoc with your center of gravity and thus your balance. In these areas the Osprey designs are among the best in the industry.

Bruce Watson