Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Freelance travel photography??

Freelance travel photography??

Any advice on the best outlets to show your work for sale? Other than through face to face connections, of course. I was just told that a number of publications nearly exclusively buy large format photos. True? I studied photography in Italy many moons ago and have done some professional work however through cameras being repeatedly stolen from me and my interest in too many other things I never kept up. I am now preparing for an extended bit of travel and am considering working on the road(I tend to stick around a place for a while) working for the hotels, maybe real estate agencies, and possibly putting some work out there for general sale as stock photos. Any pointers to sites or links to forum posts discussing the basics would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Freelance travel photography??

The prominence of large format was in the film days. Although there is little doubt that large format's resolution remains better than most digital cameras, image quality from top DSLRs is nowadays considered sufficient for almost all purposes. Witness the number of well-known large format photographers who have switched to digital.

Quote Originally Posted by QT Luong View Post
    The prominence of large format was in the film days. Although there is little doubt that large format's resolution remains better than most digital cameras, image quality from top DSLRs is nowadays considered sufficient for almost all purposes. Witness the number of well-known large format photographers who have switched to digital.
    Whatever.... Im buying 600 bucks of film and a pocket pistol when I get there.
    Too bad that non adjusted pictures win. . . . We'll see how long this lasts.

http://www.spiritsofsilver.com tgtaylor's Avatar

Witness the number of well-known large format photographers who have switched to digital.
    That's music to my ears baby.

Thomas