Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What are your favorite trays or developong film?

What are your favorite trays or developong film?

I've been thinking of treating myself to new Cesco Lites with dimpled bottoms for my printing.
    Until I can find a cure for my processor ills (or a wealthy dead person wills me their Jobo) I'll be developing in trays as I've been having just too many problems with the ol' Unicolor lately, so I was wondering how the Cesco Lites would handle multi-tasking? I've never used dimpled bottom trays before but it seems like an improvement that might reduce the issue of air bells.
    Your thoughts?
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

Re: What are your favorite trays or developong film?

I really like the Paterson's trays,

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/3241-P...ed?cat_id=1603

I just ordered more in 8x10 and also have 4 in the 16x20 size. I find then great for developing paper and film.

No experience with Cesco, but for 8x10 B&W, look at the big auction site for item # 271159551226. I doubt the seller will succeed with his BIN. Others have sold for $15. I paid $5 each, unused.

The are used emulsion-up. The film is retained by a ridge on the bottom of each end. The original virtue of these rocking trays was for color prints using little chemistry, and ease of maintaining temperature (it can float in a tray of water). I use more than enough developer than they were designed for.

It might be worth keeping an eye out for one or more.

Do you get any uneven development in the rocking trays?

When I started in the darkroom, I used the rocking method to agitate my prints and had very uneven development. Very very bad skies and such.

+1 for the Paterson trays

Quote Originally Posted by cjbecker View Post
    Do you get any uneven development in the rocking trays?