Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: beginners luck - thank you!

beginners luck - thank you!

Dear all,

I am an enthusiastic amateur landscape photographer from Minnesota who decided a year ago to move up from 35mm to a larger format. After considering the merits of medium vs. large format, I decided that I wanted the image quality of 4x5 and set about researching my next move. After poring through the excellent books by Steve Simmons and Jack Dykinga and reading just about every thread on this forum, I decided to take the plunge. With the luxury of a decent savings account courtesy of selling prints from my Epson Stylus 2200, I was able to buy equipment that I hope will never have to be upgraded.

With the help of Jim at Midwest Photo Exchange, I purchased an Ebony 45S in mahogany (for the weight savings), Schneider 110XL and Fujinon 240 A lenses, Gitzo 1327 tripod and Bogen 329RC4 head, Lowepro Pro Trekker backpack, Toyo focusing loupe, Blackjacket darkcloth, and Fuji Quickload holder. I spent last weekend hiking around Minnesota's North Shore and held my breath when I delivered 7 Velvia quickloads for processing. Well, I got them back yesterday and was delighted to find that each sheet was properly exposed and in sharp focus! I feel like I got away with something, almost as though it shouldn't have been this easy.