PDA

View Full Version : Making your own parts for enlargers

Ed Eubanks
1-May-2004, 15:09
Hi Guys,
I recently got an (almost complete) Omega D-3V enlarger, and I'm trying to fill out the parts list I will need to get it working. I'm going to be buying some of the parts directly from Harry at Classic-Enlargers.com, but some of these parts are quite expensive for something so simple.
Here's my question: has anyone used a machine shop to have such parts (like lens boards, etc.) made more inexpensively than buying the manufacturer's part?
If so, here is some follow-up inquiry: what considerations need to be taken to make it work? For example, I read a fairly recent post where someone suggested that drilling, instead of punching, a hole in a camera lens board might warp the board. Are similar factors at play for an enlarger, or is this curtailed because of added thickness for the board?
I am sure there are other factors which I have no idea about, since I have no experience as a machinist, even at a novice level. Some of you do, however, so I appeal to your knowledge for help in saving the bucks!!!Thanks in advance.

Nick_3536
1-May-2004, 15:31
I'd be suprised if a one off from a machine shop would be cheaper then buying a factory made part. I'd be really suprised if it would be cheaper then buying a used part. Depending on what you need it might be cheaper to buy a second whole enlarger and use your current one for spare parts. 4x5 enlargers aren't selling for that much on the used market.

The other option is to consider sources other then classic enlargers.

http://www.khbphotografix.com/

I don't know what parts you need but they might be cheaper.

Garry Teeple
1-May-2004, 20:18