PDA

View Full Version : New to 4x5 - Developing help?

chipshorter
18-Jan-2013, 12:13
Hi everyone! I just recently took the plunge and got a 4x5 kit for myself. I'm pretty excited about it. I'm trying to cover my bases now in the darkroom so that I'm ready to roll when it's delivered.

I have a lot of experience developing E6, C41, and B&W (Rodinal and HC110) for 35mm and MF. I was looking around and I see that Jobo makes a few tanks for the cpp2 (which i have) but they're in the $300-$600 range on the 'bay, which i definitely cannot afford at the moment. I expect I will eventually, esp for E6.

I have also seen some postings that say in effect 'just develop in some tupperwares that you have lying about' which would definitely be a cheaper way to do it :)

I'm wondering if anyone has some time to point me in the right direction as I'm getting started. I know I'm going to have a lot of learning to do, I just want to be as ready as possible.

Thanks in advance!
-ch

Light Guru
18-Jan-2013, 12:19
If you wand a process you can do in the light the Mod54 is about as easy as they come.
http://www.mod54.com/

Dan Henderson
18-Jan-2013, 13:12
I have no color film developing experience so my comments apply only to that medium. The advice for tray (or Tupperware) developing is a good starting point. It is the least expensive equipment to use. You can develop one sheet at a time in a small tray with a little developer, or more sheets in a larger tray using the "shuffling" method. Some people (like me) sometimes scratch film using this method. And there is always the risk of staining your film by contaminating the developer if your hands aren't really clean.

I used daylight tanks that held the film in vertical racks until discovering uneven development caused by the developer swirling and surging around the rack.