PDA

View Full Version : Minimum Scanner specs for 4x5

Raffay
22-Dec-2012, 23:04
Hello, I am new to 4x5 and where I live there are no facilities for scanning. Hence, I have to get my own scanner, after reading reviews I short-listed Epson V700 but that too is not available here, hence I have to source it from abroad. In the mean time I was thinking of getting a scanner that can do the job if not brilliantly. I am having problems with film fog as all my films are also sourced from US, so I have to sort out a lot of things.

I would really appreciate, if anyone could give me what specs to look for to scan 4x5, as mostly people have been giving me models which are not available here. I was wondering if I could have some basic specs then I can check out the models that are available and see if any of them can work for me or not.

One of the available one is:

Epson Perfection V330
Optical resolution; 4800 dpi
Max scan area: 8.5" x 11.7"
Supported film size: 35mm negatives and slides
Max resolution: 12,800 dpi
Color bit depth: 48 bit internal/external

Cheers

Raffay

rdenney
22-Dec-2012, 23:20
The issue is whether the scanner has a large enough transparency adapter to cover the full 4x5 film area. The scanner you mention does not--otherwise it would be fine.

So, you need:

1. Transparency adapter covering at least 4x5 scan area
2. True 2000 sensels/inch resolution (will support about a 4x enlarged print reasonably). Most flatbed scanners are much higher, but don't add useful detail at those higher values. This is difficult to assess on the basis of specifications. But if you make smaller prints (up to, say, 11x14), then you can get away with much lower resolution of maybe 1200 or so.
3. Supported by Vuescan, which is usually not a problem. If the scanner comes with good software for scanning, then you can use that. But if that software is not good, Vuescan is decent and will support most scanners. You can check for compatibility at www.hamrick.com.