PDA

View Full Version : Profiling: X-Rite's i1Pro & Eye-One Match3 VS SilverFast's v.8 IT8 Auto Calibration

sngraphics
15-Dec-2012, 00:45
I have been using the SilverFast v.8 Demo with my Epson V750 for a little while now and will be purchasing the upgrade.
(Previously used with SF v.6.6)
During emails back and forth they mentioned a coupon code. 25% off the upgrade and their targets when purchased together.
This got me thinking.

Till now I have been profiling my scanner with X-Rite's i1Pro & Eye-One Match 3 and have been pretty satisfied.
But in my correspondence with LaserSoft they state I will get better results with one of their targets and the Auto IT8 Calibration Feature.
I am not a color expert and that is why I am asking for a little help.

What provides a "Better" result?
Profiling your scanner using X-Rite's solution (i1Pro & i1Match) or SilverFast's solution (Auto IT8 & Their Targets)

Any comments or advice would be much appreciated.
I don't have any experience with SilverFast's IT8 auto Calibration and am just looking to get the most accurate scans possible.
Thank you in advance.

Doug Fisher
17-Dec-2012, 08:50
>>But in my correspondence with LaserSoft they state I will get better results with one of their targets and the Auto IT8 Calibration Feature.<<

What explanations and specifics did they give to you explain why/how their software will produce a better profile?

Doug

neil poulsen
17-Dec-2012, 12:29
I've never been much impressed with the IT8 targets. I forget how many patches they include. I've been using the Hutchcolor targets, which at about 540, have far more patches that are probably at higher saturation. For software, I'm still using PM5.

Are you doing reflection or transmission calibration?

Another good place to ask a question like this is on the Colour Management Forum at Luminous-Landscape.

sngraphics
18-Dec-2012, 03:27