PDA

View Full Version : First large format camera

Nik2494
11-Dec-2012, 11:35
I'm a complete new comer to large format photography, but I'm very interested in acquiring a large format camera. I have a lot of darkroom experience so thats not really a problem, I simply need a recommendation for a good, relatively cheap large format film camera, preferably shooting half plate 4x5 film. Can anyone help me out?? thanks for reading, any replies would be much appreciated. :)

E. von Hoegh
11-Dec-2012, 11:43
Here's your best bet. Read this: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/ , the homepage of this site. There are many inexpensive cameras out there, one of the Cambo monorails come to mind. You'll also need: lens, exposure meter, filmholders, cable release, tripod, darkcloth just for starters.

Welcome!

Len Middleton
11-Dec-2012, 11:59
I'm a complete new comer to large format photography, but I'm very interested in acquiring a large format camera. I have a lot of darkroom experience so thats not really a problem, I simply need a recommendation for a good, relatively cheap large format film camera, preferably shooting half plate 4x5 film. Can anyone help me out?? thanks for reading, any replies would be much appreciated. :)

Nik,

You might want to indicate your location, as this site has a very large reach. I think with the exception of Antarctica, there are likely members on every continent.

There may be members in your area who could help introduce you to it and provide you with contacts who have equipment or systems available and the availability of local supply of the necessities. They might even be prepared to take you out with them to demonstrate their equipment and technique. After all with the size and weight of our kits, a "sherpa" is generally always welcome.

Oh yes, and follow EvH's advice and review the articles and reviews on the LF home page.

Good luck on your journey and welcome to the asylum,

Len

Robert Langham
11-Dec-2012, 12:14