PDA

View Full Version : NPS permits in Arizona

Kirk Gittings
30-Mar-2004, 14:59
Has anyone been hassled in Arizona by NPS personel recently about permits for professional commercial photography when they weren't doing anything more unusual than carrying around a view camera. In the last two years I have been hassled at Wupatki (two weeks ago) and near Sedona (last year). I only have problems in Arizona not in New Mexico where I live. Kirk Gittings

lee\c
30-Mar-2004, 16:06
I was hassled in San Antonio with my 8x10 camera. I was told that as a professional photographer I needed a permit to photograph in the missions. I am not a pro but I went to see the people that issue the permits because this was a long term project and I wanted to do it correctly and avoid future hassles. I was informed that as a citizen I did not need a permit to make images in the NPS jurisdiction. If I sold an image that was ok as there is NO Law against that. Now if I brought in a buggy and a horse and a crew then yes I would need a permit. The Missions in San Antonio is a popular place for wedding photographers as one might suspect. I don't think the rules are different in different states.

leec

Michael E. Gordon
30-Mar-2004, 16:54
http://www.nps.gov/refdesk/DOrders/FilmingA20.html

Tell the NPS Nazi's to kiss off and chase the photographers that light fires under arches. You don't need a permit, and I wouldn't submit to their threats. This land is your land.....

Wayne
30-Mar-2004, 17:13
But Kirk, you are in fact a professional photographer as anyone who can Google will quickly see. Therefore you need a permit. Whether you should need one or not is another topic, but dems the facts. The person "harassing" you was probably an underpayed schmuck just doing their job.

Michael E. Gordon
30-Mar-2004, 17:22
According to the document I posted a link to, if Kirk's work falls outside the scope of the following, then he does NOT need a permit (professional or not):