PDA

View Full Version : Good Sharpening

Ari
26-Nov-2012, 20:38
There was a post a while back on sharpening in PS.
I just wanted to share a video tutorial I found this week; I found it to be quite effective, depending on the subject.
It's a bit involved, but the results are impressive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7JqcC2h5zk&feature=related

C. D. Keth
26-Nov-2012, 22:52
I am far from a PS expert (or PS fluent, even) but that's a very elegant solution.

Peter De Smidt
27-Nov-2012, 15:52
I've thought about doing something similar for a long time, but I've resorted to painting in sharpening when overall sharpening isn't good enough. But it's time to take the plunge to something more sophisticated. Thanks for the link!

Ari
27-Nov-2012, 15:59
My pleasure, Peter.
I find that while each step is important, the two "curves" steps make the most difference in the final output.
I have yet to play around with the Gaussian Blur to see what effect it has on the final output.

ic-racer
27-Nov-2012, 17:36
Computer graphics are great. When he was finished it did not look anything like a photograph taken with film and printed on photographic paper.

Mike Anderson
27-Nov-2012, 18:19
Very useful technique. Thanks.

Mark Stahlke
27-Nov-2012, 18:40
It looks like the edge masks from "Real World Sharpening".
By the way, you can invert the mask and do noise reduction without softening the edges.

chuck94022
27-Nov-2012, 19:45
Is this technique the same as the "Edge Sharpening" found in Aperture? Seems to produce nearly the same result anyway from my quick experiment.

I'm finding that there are a number of advanced features like this in PhotoShop that have worked their way into Aperture and LightRoom with much streamlined user interfaces targeted to photography. But it's nice to know about this one for use in PhotoShop directly.