PDA

View Full Version : What is the most important

Pfiltz
5-Nov-2012, 06:04
think I should consider, while trying to setup my DR? I did a search on Darkrooms, and read and saw plenty of darkroom examples. Since I'm just starting out with one, which will look very crude to some that I saw here, what is the one most important "factor" I should consider, to make sure I get off on the right foot?

TIA

Brian Ellis
5-Nov-2012, 06:17
Darkness

vinny
5-Nov-2012, 06:19
sound system

Pfiltz
5-Nov-2012, 06:21
sound system

Got it covered :), question is.... What type of Music? I listen to Sirius XM all day, pumped through an amp in the studio with some BOSE speakers located at the front of the shop.

Maybe some Floyd's Dark side of the Moon?
Sound Check - Checked!

Brian, working on that today hopefully.

jk0592
5-Nov-2012, 06:51
Ground fault interruptors for your protection.
A good large sink with temperature controlled running water.

Jody_S
5-Nov-2012, 06:52
Make sure your wife doesn't mind you disappearing for hours and hours on end, inside the damn house but unreachable except by shouting.

Ari
5-Nov-2012, 07:39
Paint the walls white, not black.
Really.

E. von Hoegh
5-Nov-2012, 07:43
A lock on the door.

ic-racer
5-Nov-2012, 08:06
think I should consider, while trying to setup my DR? I did a search on Darkrooms, and read and saw plenty of darkroom examples. Since I'm just starting out with one, which will look very crude to some that I saw here, what is the one most important "factor" I should consider, to make sure I get off on the right foot?

TIA

Since I already had a sink, the next thing in the construction of my darkroom that made if functional was the drying cabinet. Dust that settles on the film emulsion during drying is permanent.
Next important thing was a table for the enlarger and a electrical outlet for the enlarger.
Next important thing was a table or counter for the print trays.
Jobo processor followed.
Then 4x5 enlarger.