PDA

View Full Version : ICC profiles

Gabriele Campagnano
31-Oct-2012, 03:38
Hi All,

I would like to crate icc profiles for my Epson printer (that I am using with 3rd part inks) using my Epson 3200 scanner.
At the moment I have the simple Kodak checker Q-13. I would like to do so without investing
any money and of course I do not expect anything very accurate. Could you point me
some good reference? (keep in mind that I am a complete beginner in color management)

thanks,
Gabriele

Brian Ellis
31-Oct-2012, 05:50
Why would you want to create your own profiles that you don't expect to be very accurate? Color accuracy or predictability is pretty much the point of having profiles.

FWIW I've never found a need to create my own printer profiles or pay someone to do it for me. The Epson profiles for Epson papers and the paper manufacturers' profiles for other papers have worked fine with the papers I've used (Moab Entrada, Hahnemuhle rag, various Epson papers among others) and printers (various Epsons, currently a 3800). If I was working in a lab and my colors had to exactly match those of my co-workers or if I was doing commercial work where color perfection was required it might be different. But for normal photography printing I haven't found it necessary.

You don't say what model printer you're using but have you tried using the Epson paper profiles or those supplied by the manufacturer of whatever other paper you're using?

Peter De Smidt
31-Oct-2012, 05:57
To make good profiles, you'd need a system like the the Spyder4Print or similar. If you don't want to buy one of these, then there are a number of places that'll have you print off some targets and they'll make the profile for you.

DennisD
31-Oct-2012, 06:31
Color printing without good profiles will only lead to frustration for you. You can easily waste paper that will exceed the cost of a custom profile if that's what you need.