PDA

View Full Version : Schneider Symmar XL 150mm f5.6 VS Nikor SW 150 f8

NATURELOVER
18-Oct-2012, 10:08
Which lens will produce the best/sharpest image result for landscape work on my 8x10? Any others to consider? Experience matters.

E. von Hoegh
18-Oct-2012, 10:10
Take the same photograph with each lens and you probably won't be able to tell which is which.

There may, however, be differences in the image circle.

John NYC
18-Oct-2012, 10:20
I owned a 150mm XL. It is a fabulous lens, but the focal length was too wide for me on 8x10. There is significant falloff on this lens. Sometimes that look is really great. For times that it's not, you will need a center filter. The center filter is very expensive also, as is the lens. I owned the center filter, and I picked and chose the times that I would use it. Sometimes I actually liked the look of the falloff.

I have no experience with the Nikkor.

Daniel Stone
18-Oct-2012, 10:22
Having a 5.6 maximum aperture can be beneficial if focusing in fading light.

The 150SSXL is a wonderful lens IMO. I don't own one(yet, still saving), but have used one that belongs to a friend, and have been floored by the resolution it brings to the table.

Dan

premortho
18-Oct-2012, 10:27
Yeah right. It's a stop faster. And sometimes that's the whole ballgame.

Drew Wiley
18-Oct-2012, 10:28
Accuracy of film plane is often a bigger variable for sharpness than specific lens choice.
And at 150 (a very short focal length for this format) you need the film to stay flat in the holder. I don't own that Super Symmar XL, but have peeped through a groundglass with
one attached. It's pretty impressive.

Eric Leppanen
18-Oct-2012, 10:30
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?35234-Nikkor-150mm-F8-SW-Lens-Opinions-Comments

NATURELOVER
18-Oct-2012, 11:10