PDA

View Full Version : Fixing a Novatron

BetterSense
9-Oct-2012, 17:20
I have a flash system that has had a broken flash tube since I bought it. I bought a new tube for it and soldered it in, but it doesn't flash. It's possible that I got a bad tube, but it could also be something else. But there's not a whole lot else--just some resistors, a cap, and some weird cardboard coil thingy.

I'm suspecting that brown cardboard coil thing. I have no idea what it is but it looks like a coil of some kind. Maybe the electrolyte is dried out or something? Does anyone know what it's for?

photobymike
9-Oct-2012, 17:32
LOL bettersense.... be careful !! The voltage from these units will stop your heart.. literally... i work with my dad when i was a kid as a electrician helper... i have seen a fellow worker killed from electrocution. It was from hi amperage ... but the right hi voltage can stop your heart. It seems to me that it would be cheaper to buy a used working head.... just my humble opinion...

BetterSense
9-Oct-2012, 17:49
Don't worry; I'm a professional. I just don't know what I'm doing.

Leigh
9-Oct-2012, 17:52
II'm suspecting that brown cardboard coil thing. I have no idea what it is but it looks like a coil of some kind.
That's the trigger transformer. It's probably open. Fairly common problem, not related to the broken flash tube.

I suggest you send it to Novatron for repair.

- Leigh

ic-racer
9-Oct-2012, 18:12
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Trigger-coil-transformer-for-Flashtube-flash-tube-xenon-/110632978524?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19c23d485c

$3.30

Scott Davis
9-Oct-2012, 18:53
I'd suggest skipping DIY fixes with strobe gear, ESPECIALLY Novatrons. They have a reputation for unintended discharges with less than fortuitous outcomes.

Leigh
9-Oct-2012, 19:16
Yeah, what he said ^^^^

Do not try to fix this yourself. You don't have the schematic, and Novatron won't give it to you, nor will they sell you parts.