PDA

View Full Version : Loading/unloading film holders....simple questions

Meekyman
28-Sep-2012, 10:35
Hi Folks,

I'm new to LF and have been practising loading/unloading film holders with an exposed sheet of film. I have been following advice from video's on you tube and internet guides (e.g http://www.butzi.net/articles/filmload.htm) and have a few questions:

1) I find that by holding the film along the long edges and slotting into the holder, it is curving slightly. Is this problematic?

2) When you insert the film, do you push it all the way or do you pull it back to the square indent?

3) I will not go through a whole box of film in one go, so need to able to transfer exposed film to another box. I guess the best thing would be to use an old film box, but because I am new to this I don't have any! So, where do you get them from?

4) I plan on sending off film to a lab. As long as it is all, say, negative film does it matter if I mix up films in the same box?

Thanks in advance

Graham

BrianShaw
28-Sep-2012, 10:51
1. I find it easier to hold a short side and feed the film into the holder. When in the holder the film should not curve at all; it needs to lay flat.

2. All the way in.

3. Yes, segregate exposed film from unexposed. Get some extra boxes. Ask around here... there seems to alwyas be someone with spares they are willing to offer.

4. If it is all the same film, sure. But if I'm shooting C-41 400 speed and C-41 160 speed I use two separate boxes. It might not matter but...

Leigh
28-Sep-2012, 12:41
1) I hold film by the notched corner with my right thumb and middle finger. I push it home with my forefinger along the adjacent narrow edge.

2) All the way.

3) Separate boxes. You can get them gratis from members here.

4) I recommend not mixing films at all. Choose one and shoot it until you know it well, and are familiar with its characteristics.