PDA

View Full Version : Studio for LF work

Richard M. Anderson
22-Feb-2004, 15:56
I'm a student at the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, MS. I've taken up LF photography after spending years shooting for newspapers (since I was 15). My problem is, I want to start doing some studio photography but no one around here seems to rent studio space. I'm not interested in portraiture, but portrait photographers who own studios seem put off I'm not interested in their work and refuse to even discuss the idea of me renting some space to take pictures. I've tried to tell them I won't be doing anything to compete with them but they won't listen. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do? I really don't have a lot of money, being a full time college student, so renting a room by the month is out of the question. I'm just really disapointed to come up against this brick wall so quickly in my LF career. Thanks for any help you guys can give.

McLean Anderson

j.e.simmons
22-Feb-2004, 16:11
Edward Weston used the main room of his house with a simple screen and natural light coming through the window. He would vary the background by how he turned the screen to the light.

This may not work for you, but perhaps you can improvise something. Be flexible in your thinking and don't give up.

Christopher Nisperos
22-Feb-2004, 16:19
How about renting something cheaper than a room, like a garage or small industrial space? Should be pretty easy to secure, too (though a little cold!).

matthew blais
22-Feb-2004, 16:36
I'd look into storage type facilities, maybe a larger one that would offer room for lights. They are usually high enough and abundant out here in CA, and rent for $35-100.00 month, depending on size. I looked into it once, but now utilize my back bedroom or sometimes living room. Other option is art studio spaces that universities provide or offer their students.