PDA

View Full Version : LF Newbie from Boston

davidmarinero
13-Aug-2012, 09:49
I started shooting APS-C digital, then tried 35mm film with a Nikon F6, and was amazed by the image quality of slides on a light table. I continued to MF with a Mamiya 6mf, and the joy of seeing those large slides is difficult to describe (I was ecstatic). Following this trend, it was only a matter of time that I decided to take the plunge into LF, so I have just received a Chamonix 045N-2 that I have yet to try. Yesterday night I loaded my sheet holders, so I expect to use it this weekend! :)

I have been following this forum a long time, and so far all my questions have been answered by existing posts, saving me from actually asking. It is now time I introduce myself!! Once I get my confidence with the format, it will probably be time to meet with some LF shooters in Massachusetts using the Groups & Meetings section.

David

Bob Salomon
13-Aug-2012, 12:15
Have you gone to E P Levine off of 128?

davidmarinero
13-Aug-2012, 13:10
No, I haven't yet. So far, I have bought all my equipment online: Adorama, B&H, KEH and eBay. Is there anything in particular you would recommend of them?

Bob Salomon
13-Aug-2012, 13:15
They probably have more used film holders then any other store. Also lots of new and used lenses and lots of expertise on large format. So they also have cameras.

davidmarinero
13-Aug-2012, 13:34
Excellent. Thanks for the tip!

Ken Lee
13-Aug-2012, 15:26
Welcome ! Some of us live in the Boston area, as well as others in Western Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Connecticut - even Eastern New York :cool:

We recently had a wonderful show and benefit organized by some of the LF Forum members. See http://www.nelfpc.com/rog-2012/ (http://www.nelfpc.com/rog-2012/)

Oren Grad
13-Aug-2012, 15:40
They probably have more used film holders then any other store. Also lots of new and used lenses and lots of expertise on large format. So they also have cameras.