PDA

View Full Version : Archival Image Quality of 3f vs. TIFF

b.cipolla
24-Jul-2012, 07:47
Hello all. I'm preparing to scan a very large batch of negatives using a Hasselblad Flextight scanner. I've used the machine before, but I am new to the 3f raw file format that is included with the FlexColor software. I'm aware of the advantages of scanning to 3f in terms of being able to go back and reprocess negatives without having to rescan, but I was wondering if there was any advantage in using 3f over TIFF in terms of archival image quality. Right now, I'm scanning to 16-bit TIFF and then making making adjustments to my images in Camera Raw, and saving as DNG's so that my adjustments are saved. Is this not as safe as scanning to 3f, making adjustments in FlexColor or Photoshop, and then exporting 16-bit TIFF's? My main concern is to maintain and archival image quality and capturing the most available data within the negative. It's my understanding that a 3f file is only a TIFF with extra data added on that enables you to adjust it in FlexColor. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!

b.cipolla
24-Jul-2012, 07:53
I forgot to mention that when I scan in TIFF, I am turning all histogram, curves, and flextight settings off, so that there is no clipping. I am using some sharpening by leaving the setting at 0.

Kirk Gittings
24-Jul-2012, 08:21
3f files are not really raw. They never developed the file format. Its a myth. They are just tiffs. You can simply change the extension on a 3f file to .tiff and they work fine as tiffs. If they were a raw format you could not do this. I fell for this for a couple of years before a professional scanner and Jeff Schewe told me the truth. Once you get the scan there is absolutely no advantage to doing additional adjustments back in Flexcolor-you are better off going to PS or Lightroom.

Jim Andrada
24-Jul-2012, 22:55