PDA

View Full Version : Reciprocity failure

Pfiltz
11-Jul-2012, 05:36
I'm new to film. My first film camera 6 months ago is my RB67. My first LF is a Speed Graphic.

If I wanted to shoot a long exposure lets say of a stream or something along those lines, how do I make sure I don't have reciprocity failure, short of shooting B/W.

When I mentioned that I was thinking of shooting some longer exposed work, one photographer mentioned "reciprocity failure".

How is that avoided, or does it really come into play for LONG exposures such as 15 minutes and so on, and even then how are those folks shooting lets say stars at night, and not getting reciprocity failure?

Is reciprocity failure just applied to color film?

TIA

vinny
11-Jul-2012, 06:12
http://www.google.com/search?q=Reciprocity+failure&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en&client=safari

E. von Hoegh
11-Jul-2012, 07:21
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

Leigh
11-Jul-2012, 07:21
Check the datasheet for the film you're using. There's a broad range of characteristics.

For example, Fuji Acros requires no correction up to 120 seconds, and only +1/2 stop up to 1000 seconds.

Reciprocity law failure applies to all sensitized products, both color and b&w.

The reciprocity law states that if you double the exposure time, you double the actual exposure of the sensitized material.
When the law fails, it just means you must increase the time by more than 2x to achieve the same result.
You still get an exposure that increases with time, but the relationship is no longer a simple multiplicative factor.
The same failure occurs with very short exposures, like 1/10,000 of a second, but we seldom work at this end of the curve.

- Leigh

RichardSperry
11-Jul-2012, 07:46
It really is less of a Law than it is a suggestion.

and even then how are those folks shooting lets say stars at night, and not getting reciprocity failure?