PDA

View Full Version : Search for a Tachihara 4x5

malindis
19-Jun-2012, 10:14
Hello all,
It's my first post on this forum. :o

As mentioned in the title i'm new to LF and after some research it appears that for what i want to do (landscapes), the best LF field camera would be a Tachihara regarding the weight and the cost.
But unfortunately, I can't find any used one to buy :-(
Except the one i just missed on ebay :-)
So if anyone has a tachihara to sell (with a lens or not) or know where i could find one for a reasonably price (about 400 to 500 USD) I would be grateful.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Regards.

drew.saunders
19-Jun-2012, 11:13
Where are you located? You should put this in the For Sale section, as it's a "Wanted" ad. You'll be able to see/post in that section 30 days after you join. I have a Tachihara that needs a wee bit of repair work (actually, works fine without it), if you're at all handy with tools and/or don't expect to use rear tilt at all.

malindis
19-Jun-2012, 11:36
Hi,
As i'm really new to this forum I can't post anything under the "for sale" section :-(

I'm from Lausanne, Switzerland...

Regarding your tachihara, it depends the price and the work to be done... Is it possible to have some more news and maybe some pictures ?
Thanks.

Alan Gales
19-Jun-2012, 11:51
If you can't find a Tachi you might also look at used Chamonix's and Shen Hao's. All three are similar. Each having slight advantages and disadvantages over the other two. I have not priced these cameras on the used market lately but I expect you may end up spending a little more than your limit for a nice example.

malindis
19-Jun-2012, 12:02
I would love a chamonix, i have seen one on ebay, but it's already at 600 € and the bidding hasn't ended.
For the shen hao's i have read on different forums that they are not very well made compared to Chamonix or even Tachihara.

I'm really a beginner on LF so any suggestion is appreciated.