PDA

View Full Version : Filter Questions

ihamilton91
18-Jun-2012, 13:20
So, I've finally got the main pieces of gear and the next thing on my mind is filters. I know the types I want, but I'm not sure which method/system would work best for me. I currently have a 300mm Fujinon that takes 77mm circular filters, but in the future I'm interested in getting a wider lens, maybe the Fujinon 240. So my question is would it be best to just have two sets of circular filters for the different lenses or go with something like Cokin or Lee system? I've never used much in the way of filters before so I'm kind of in the dark about what makes the most sense financially and practically :confused:

Light Guru
18-Jun-2012, 13:28
I would recommend going with ether a Cokin or Lee filter system. One set of filters that will go on all your lenses.

Ari
18-Jun-2012, 13:30
I use step-up rings, so all my lenses take 82mm filters.
Step-up rings can be purchased quite cheaply on eBay; after that, the filters are up to you.

vinny
18-Jun-2012, 14:06
I use step-up rings, so all my lenses take 82mm filters.
Step-up rings can be purchased quite cheaply on eBay; after that, the filters are up to you.

same here. 82mm. I have a 82mm pola and a couple glass filters but that's it.
I primarily use the lee system (b+w filters by hitech, grads by sing-ray) now as well. all my lenses (that aren't 82mm) have step up rings attached and Tamron lens caps, makes things faster in the field.

Doremus Scudder
19-Jun-2012, 04:38