PDA

View Full Version : Spring Back Sprung Out?

matthew blais
19-Jan-2004, 19:32
I just recieved my "new" 8x10 Korona today ...what a monster yet surprisingly "light". All the parts are there (all knobs, ext. rails, good workable bellows, glass, back, etc), some looses joints but I plan on tearing it apart (you know what I mean) and restoring. I also am half way through a 4x5 Korona I picked up a few weeks back. (More parts than I thought, but I'm a competent woodworker/handyman/masochistic/anal retentive type) and so far so good.

Question: The spring back tension on the 4x5 seems fairly tight, but the 8x10 seems to have less tension (floppy-ish). I know you can sometimes find a replacement set, but my thought was I could just drill a new hole a half inch or so further up and add another screw, which will add tension. Is this a good alternative if need be?

However, I like "original" as best I can. I talked to two machinist friends today, both said though it looks simple, spring steel is a bitch to work with (their way of saying "I don't want to do that" ??). I believe this would be better, but how difficult for even an experienced machinist/fabricator?

So, my first option would be to find new or new used replacements, (if so, from where beside a parts camera on ebay?) Second would be to fabricate new ones via my friends or other fabricator, and last option, the extra hole/screw.

What might your thoughts/experience be regarding this?

Also came with a Unicom shutter...ain't those cool things! Thanks all

wfwhitaker
19-Jan-2004, 19:44
spring steel is a bitch to work with (their way of saying "I don't want to do that" ??)

Or their way of saying the price just went up.