PDA

View Full Version : Need help finding the best aerial lens for 6x17

Maple
30-Mar-2012, 05:27
Hi guys,

Love the forum guys thanks, its a true gold mine of information! anyway

I am an aerial photographer with a landscape and wildlife focus. I shoot both digital and 6x17 and currently I am having a really hard time setting up the 6x17 format to do all the things i need it too. I really need some advice on a wide lens (below 140mm) that will work the way i need it to work which i find is the opposite to what these lenses are built for. I need shutters speeds at a minimum of 1/250 on velvia 100 or at a maximum prov 400x with as little as possible light fall off for reef and tropical island scenes! I know its a big ask. one thing on my side is that the dof is not critical. I shoot at infinity all the time so can work at f4.5 if the lens will allow but as you know they dont.

I have been using a Nikkor 4.5 SW at f5.6 - f8 and seems to work well except it has terrible fall off. A center filter could just work with prov 400x but its really at its limits and would like to stick to the velvia if possible!

So what i really need to know is what if any lens would work the best for this application, something that will preform well close to wide open (without mechanical Vig) has no really noticeable light fall off has a copal 0 or 1 shutter (3 is not fast enough) and is wider then 140mm?

Any advice would be greatly appropriated!! and i mean that! it has been a long and expensive road.

cheers
ben

Dan Fromm
30-Mar-2012, 05:55
Ben, it all depends on the focal length you want to use.

I don't, off the top of my head, know the size of your 6x17 roll holder's gate. If it is 56x170, the diagonal (= normal focal length for the format) will be approximately 180 mm.

With a 140, the half-angle covered (theta) will be around 33.5 degrees and the corners will be around half a stop down from the center. I assume falloff as cos(theta)^4, some lenses do cos(theta)^3.