PDA

View Full Version : Setting up Sinar F1 - making sure its calibrated

travelman
17-Mar-2012, 05:35
Hi All, I'm new to LF photography however I have read up lots about the processes. I am already a photographer but new to LF.

I have just assembled a Sinar F1 that I just bought send hand (my first ever LF Camera - really exciting)

However before I start burning film a few questions to make sure I've set it up properly.

1. I have bubbled up on all levels. When the bubbles are all level there is a slight arc in the bellows i.e.. the front plate and back plate are at a slight V shape (very slight) is this normal or should they be level?

2. How far apart to set the bellows to a neutral position to start with.

3. When I set the horizontal; movement i.e. forward and back to zero on the side slide scale - I presume I should then zero the +/- dial on the dial knob at the front?

3. When Im looking at the ground glass I presume I just turn the movement tracker back and forth until the image is sharp....

Any advice here would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

E. von Hoegh
17-Mar-2012, 09:27
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

Frank Petronio
17-Mar-2012, 10:16
The bubbles are really jokes, they are just for roughing in. You really can't depend on them to be perfectly true.

The bellows will arc naturally, they're flexible. Google photos of Sinar F1s to see how they normally look.

Camera standards can be however far apart you like, usually you aim to set them about infinity on your lens, so a 150mm lens might want the bellows about 150mm apart.

Yeah just put everything at zero and the lens should center on the ground glass.

Movement tracker? Do you mean the focusing knob? Yep, just play with it. Short of using a hammer it would be hard to break anything with any common sense. Some controls have lever locks so don't force anything too hard.