PDA

View Full Version : tf4 fixer rocks like a hurricane!

jp
5-Feb-2012, 20:58
I used Kodak fixer and Kodak rapid fixer for about 20 years and didn't see any need to deviate from that.

A couple years ago, I started playing with a little fomapan 100 film. It's more fragile than my usual kodak film choice. It got pinholed easily in the Kodak fixer, so I tried the fomafix fixer, and didn't get any better results. Read the tf4 and tf3 fixers were good for the sort of issue.

I got the tf4. It fixed the pinholes, and turned out to be a really nice FAST fixer. I can slap in a sheet of 8x10 fomapan 100 and within 15 seconds, it's cleared. I still fix it for the recommended time of course, but it's faster than anything I've ever used. tmax 400 fixes probably 2-4x faster than Kodak's fixer.

The only oddity is that you are not supposed to use an acid stop bath with it. That's not a problem, as I've been using pmk and pyrocat-hd, which also don't want an acid stop bath. 2 changes of water is fine.

BarryS
5-Feb-2012, 21:12
Completely agree on TF-4--best damn fixer ever invented. The capacity is amazing and it has a great shelf life, too. Only problem is it costs a fortune to ship across the country. I wish Photographers Formulary had a a dry powder version. I did manage to buy some when PF had their free holiday shipping--that saved a lot.

cdholden
5-Feb-2012, 21:24
With trying to economize, would it be safe to inversely adjust fix time in the ratio in which it's diluted beyond recommendation?

Gem Singer
5-Feb-2012, 21:34
Formulary TF5 is even better. It's a clear solution. Not super-saturated like TF4. No need to shake the container before using.

It is also an alkaline fixer. Washes out quickly. and is okay to use with Pyro development.

Acid stop baths and acid fixers tend to reduce the stain from film developed in Pyro.

ic-racer
5-Feb-2012, 21:49
I can slap in a sheet of 8x10 fomapan 100 and within 15 seconds, it's cleared

...and the HT-2 is...??

tgtaylor