PDA

View Full Version : Voigtlander Heliar 30cm f/4.5 lens board

sleeklines
24-Jan-2012, 20:38
Hi all,

I got my hands on a Voigtlander Heliar 30cm f/4.5 lens but it doesn't have the lens board so I'm trying to find out the best way to acquire or make a lens board (something I've never tried to do before). So, can someone provide or point me to some details of the specs of the lens or lens board or anything useful in procuring one.

Many thanks!

Steven Tribe
25-Jan-2012, 03:55
Need to know the camera you want it to fit. There are a few common standard sizes and lots of non-standard sizes - especialy with wooden lens boards.

Len Middleton
25-Jan-2012, 07:08
Do you have a retaining ring for the lens? That would be a key component that could determine some of your options.

Some have screwed lenses directly into a tight hole in a wood board using the threads on the lens to form threads on the lensboard. Not adviseable with a metal lensboard I would think. Nor something I would want to do with a large, heavy, and / or expensive lens.

Steve Hamley
25-Jan-2012, 12:52
The lensboard will be determined by what camera you want to put the lens on. Lensboards are camera specific, not lens specific. Once you have a lensboard that fits your camera, you have a hole bored into it to attach the flange, then you screw the lens into the flange.

It's a fine lens, but not a lot of coverage to spare for 8x10 if that's your format. Better for 4x5, 5x7, and whole plate (6-1/2 x 8-1/2).

Cheers, Steve

sleeklines
25-Jan-2012, 13:54
All I know is that it is a Korona large format. It is capable of doing 8x10.

Louis Pacilla
25-Jan-2012, 15:23
All I know is that it is a Korona large format. It is capable of doing 8x10.

If your camera is 8x10 Korona View. Then your lens board size will be 5 3/4"x5 3/4".
If on the other hand it turn out to be a Home Portrait then the lens board will be 9"x9".