PDA

View Full Version : Looking for superb WA

Leszek Vogt
19-Jan-2012, 16:30
While enjoying the snow outside the window....I'm dreaming about really good WA lens. More specifically a 75mm. I don't want to flip a coin on this, but out of what's available out there (Rodenstock, Schneider, Caltar, Fuji, Nikkor, etc) what would be my best choice and why ? I'm new to LF and all qualifying opinions would be considered. Can it be said that I couldn't go wrong with any of these
choices ? Also, are there better or equally good vendors besides KEH ? Thanks for your time.

Les

evan clarke
19-Jan-2012, 17:32
72 Xl......

Fred Heming
19-Jan-2012, 17:48
Zeiss Biogon 75mm

Lachlan 717
19-Jan-2012, 17:49
72 Xl......

+1

Nathan Potter
19-Jan-2012, 18:39
Schneider 80mm SSXL would be close enough in FL to consider. I have used both the Nikon mentioned and the SSXL. The SSXL has slightly higher sharpness and contrast than the regular 75 mm Nikon f/4.5 that I use a lot. You need to check for the haze problem on some versions, although most of those lenses have been corrected or replaced I think.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

Noah A
19-Jan-2012, 20:31
What are you shooting? If you're doing commercial architecture work you can'd do much better than the Schneider 72XL. But it's a big lens and requires a huge center filter. If you're doing landscapes or other work that doesn't require tons of movements, then it may be overkill.

I use a 75/4.5 Grandagon-N. It's very sharp and also quite compact. I use it for urban landscape work mostly, and some interiors, but not commercial architectural work. I'd recommend it for all but the most demanding situations (For which the larger image circle of the 72XL may be required).

David Karp
19-Jan-2012, 21:20
I guess it might depend on what you are going to use it for.