PDA

View Full Version : Need cheap moderatly wide field lens for 5x7 2d

Mark_3632
19-Oct-2003, 11:58
Hello all, I am new here and I am sure this was covered at some time but in a google search I could not find the info I was looking for.

I have been rebuilding a 2d for several years now and it is ready. I have a giant 300mm dagor that I do not like the narrow field of view. I want a moderately wide to wide field lens. I will only be shooting B/W for contact printing. I would, of course, love a modern lens but that is out of my price range.

Lens types have always confused me so I do not know what I am looking at when searching E--y. I am not looking for an education just some recomendations that I can take to E--y and look for. I would also really appreciate being pointed to a site that has the different lenses and the angle of coverage for each.

Thank you very much in advance

Kevin Crisp
19-Oct-2003, 12:39
Mark: Consider a Schneider 180 convertible. The prices on these used seem depressed by the fact that it isn't a 150 or a 210, which the 4X5 shooters think they need. It will cover 5X7 with significant movement, well over an inch of rise, for example. Early ones are in Compur shutters (nothing wrong with that, but might need a CLA) but the late serial numbers are in Copal's. I've tried several of them and all were very, very sharp when used with both lens elements. Used prices sometimes as low as $150-$190.

jerry brodkey
19-Oct-2003, 12:50
I usually think of a 210mm lens as being the standard for a 5X7. The coverage should be at least 220mm although 233mm would allow for some movements. A 150mm lens on a 5X7 would be like a 35mm on a 35mm camera. Look at

www.graflex.org/lenses/lens-spec.html

to get an idea of what is available to do the job...Cheap I don't know; it's in the eye of the beholder....

Michael Kadillak
19-Oct-2003, 13:10
Two suggestions. 135mm Wide Field Ektar. 150mm Kowa Graphic.