PDA

View Full Version : Continuous Ink System: Opinions?

Ari
3-Dec-2011, 12:29
Hi,
I'm considering buying my first digital printer, an Epson 2400, and I'm looking into continuous ink systems.
I found this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/250407322243?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649#ht_1142wt_1066

Are these viable systems? What should I be aware of when considering/buying something like this? Are the inks of good quality?

Any help is appreciated, I'm very new to digital printing.

Thanks in advance

Mark Sawyer
3-Dec-2011, 12:46
We tried a similar system, a "Niagra IV" with an Epson printer at my high school a few years ago. I couldn't get it to work, two computer technology teachers couldn't get it to work, the district's Technology Department couldn't get it to work, volunteers from a local digital photo club couldn't get it to work, and several technology savvy parents couldn't get it to work. We never got a satisfactory print from it, and finally threw the whole thing out.

It did, however, successfully void the warranty on the Epson printer.

Ari
3-Dec-2011, 12:52
Yes, but Mark, did you ask the janitor to see if he could make it work?

You probably should have asked a nine-year-old.

:)

Corran
3-Dec-2011, 13:17
I used a continuous ink system for a few years with an Epson printer for doing direct-on-CD printing in my recording business. It was a great system and extremely economical. I only moved on when I bought a printer that could print 100 CD's at a time.

I highly recommend it, but admittedly I never did any printing of really high-detail things, mostly just text and some basic photos, but I was always very pleased and surprised with the detail and sharpness of the printer/ink.