PDA

View Full Version : Lens for 8x10 in NJ

jantman
6-Oct-2003, 08:46
I'm a high school student in northern NJ and it looks like I'll be shooting a shot of the whole school for the rear page.

I shoot 8x10 but only have one lens - a 537mm barrel lens.

I really need something wider - I'd like between 240 and 300 - but don't have the money for it.

If anyone can recommend a place that will rent such a lens and is IN NJ - or if anyone would let me rent it from them - that would be great. Logistically, I can't work out renting from the city. I can't get it there and back in one day and can't afford a week rental.

Thanks.

Bob Salomon
6-Oct-2003, 08:57
Try Fishkin Bros. in Perth Amboy.

Another possibility would be Dover Photo in Dover.

And then many of the dealers that do rent in NY can do it over the phone. Try Lens & Repro, Photo Habitat, Photo Gizmmo, Foto Care, Ken Mar, etc.

Ted Harris
6-Oct-2003, 09:29
Jason,

You should also check local photo studios. Tell them who you are and waht you are doing and you may find one that will cooperate.

jantman
6-Oct-2003, 10:49
Ted,

I'm trying that, I e-mailed a few, but there aren't many that own 8x10 equipment. I'll also look around for any architecture guys.

Bob, I'm familiar with the NY guys, love Lens and Repro, and have thought about renting from them before. The problem with anyone in NY is that this is for a one-page shot in the yearbook, I can't get into the city twice in one day (too much driving) and can't afford a week rate for it. Plus, I'm not sure how the issue of collateral would work. I assume I'd just have to have one of my parents charge it?

Thanks for the advice, I'm e-mailing different places.

Jeffrey Goggin
6-Oct-2003, 12:59
If you can live without a shutter -- and I assume you can, since your other lens doesn't have one -- then you should be able to find a process lens on eBay for under $50, which is perhaps just a bit more than you'd pay to rent one.