PDA

View Full Version : Nikkor AM 120mm/5.6 ED Macro/Rodenstock 120 macro

Don Boyd
20-Sep-2003, 14:25
I am interested in doing wildflower closeups with my Shen Hao 4x5 and am considering both the Nikkor AM 120mm/5.6 ED Macro or the Rodenstock APO Macro 120. Can either one be used for near far (infinity) as well? I am new to both LF and to LF Macro but have shot some with the Pentax 6x7. I assume that the depth of field with these lenses is greater than a non-macro 120 is that correct? Anything special I need to keep in mind in shooting macros with either of these lenses? Thanks

Jean-Marie Solichon
20-Sep-2003, 14:47
"I assume that the depth of field with these lenses is greater than a non-macro 120 is that correct" No, depth of field will be the same. The macro lenses will be better corrected at 1:1 and give better resolution. I'm not sure but I guess both will not cover 4x5 at infinity and may be not very sharp as well. Jean-Marie

Arne Croell
20-Sep-2003, 15:04