PDA

View Full Version : camera moves

drums1977
4-Oct-2011, 10:41
Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in large format, an I have 2 questions about camera moves that, I think, might be quite basic. Here they go, I hope you can help me:

1. This is the scenario, I am photographing a tall building (about 10 floors) from its base. The whole of it is in the screen. I tilt the back standard to "correct" perspective. The width difference between the bottom and the top of the building is reduced. The back is tilted but NOT VERTICAL. Now, I would like to achieve sharp focus on the whole surface of the building, I suppose I should tilt the front standard also following the Scheinflug principle, is that correct?

2. Same scenario, but I tilt the back in order to correct the building perspectiv completely, which means the back standar is VERTICAL, paralell to the building surface. Because of thet wo surfaces being paralell, the Scheinflug principle cannot be applied. If I want complete focus of the surface, should I tilt the front so it's fully vertical too?

So, in general, the question would be: If I tilt/shift the back standard in order to correct perpective completely (so it is completely paralel to the surface of whatever I am picturing), should the front standard be moved into the same position as the back in order to acieve focus on the whole object plane?

Thank you very much in advance!!

J.

lenser
4-Oct-2011, 10:55