PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from South-Central Nebraska

cheekygeek
12-Jul-2011, 06:46
Hello everyone,
I'm a 52 year old rookie grandfather that started on my photography venture in the darkroom. Made a tiny darkroom under the basement steps of my house. My first roll of film was a 127 roll of Verichrome shot in a little Brownie. I followed the instructions for development to the letter and was quite disappointed when the negatives came out crappy. My father pointed out that I hadn't removed the paper backing from the film, something that was not mentioned in the instructions. :o

I spent my high school graduation money on a Canon AE-1 (1977) and was later given a couple of Mamiya C33s by a cousin. Her father had been a pro studio photographer in KC and died of a massive heart attack. They tried to talk me into taking over his studio, but I was only 18 and lacked the confidence (or expertise in both photography and business) to take them up on the opportunity.

I worked for a local studio as their negative retoucher and later darkroom tech (color and black & white) as well as outdoor assistant. Later moved and started my own business. Loved the photography but didn't care for the people side of the business and didn't enjoy the pressure of shooting weddings. Just about killed my love of photography which went on hiatus for a couple of decades.