PDA

View Full Version : options for digital backs on Sinar F2

jimmygcreative
10-Jul-2011, 14:38
hello,

Digital me.. never... but what are the options and any positive and neg feedback on backs please.

never say never

domaz
10-Jul-2011, 20:57
Betterlight scanning backs (http://www.betterlight.com/products4X5.html) to start. The chief advantage being you can use all your 4x5 lenses since it has a 3x4 image area. If I'm not mistaken all the other options involve smaller Medium Format sensors. Not exactly cheap but maybe you can get lucky and find an older model used. Or you can get one of those Digital SLR backs that allow you take stitched panoramas. Much cheaper but not as elegant.

Jim collum
10-Jul-2011, 21:02
+1 for the Betterlight

I've been using mine since 2001.. have never had a problem with it, and almost all of my work with it has been in field conditions (often harsh.. Cambodia & Thailand at 100deg & 90% humidity...)

Frank Petronio
10-Jul-2011, 21:34
You can put a medium format back on a F2 but the whole camera will be so coarse with focusing and movements, plus the short lenses and all will drive you crazy. The camera is the cheapest part of the equation at that point too, so you might as well budget for view camera dedicated to digital.

Or find a Better Light, that is the other option. Again you may want a heavier camera/tripod rig for that, and understand it requires longer exposures.

Daniel Stone
10-Jul-2011, 23:03
I wouldn't even start to think about using an F2 with a digital back, unless I HAD too. Just spend the extra money and get a P2, you'll thank me ;). Or better yet, a Sinar P3, or a Rollei M679CS. They're designed for digital use 1st and formost, with finer gearing, which is IMPERATIVE for digital usage. You can't just "rough it in" if you want tremendous results. You NEED to know you have it. And that doesn't come cheap 99% of the time...