PDA

View Full Version : Power Macintosh G3 won't power up

vinny
1-Jul-2011, 19:18
I got this with a scanner as part of a package. It's not a big deal if I can't get it going but the scanner (screen dts 1030) requires an older mac and I have another one that does work but the new one would be much faster. Anyway, I press the on button and nothing lights up and no fans come on. The power cable is fine, checked that. Anything I should look for before I dump it?

Filmnut
1-Jul-2011, 20:08
Could be the power supply, but I'm not an expert. Have you tried doing a "google" search for ways to debug it?
Keith

Frank Petronio
1-Jul-2011, 21:28
It's a $40 part. Or just buy a couple of others as spares.

domaz
11-Jul-2011, 16:49
Could also be a bad switch- unlikely but not unheard of. PC power supplies can be tested with a wire jumper- google ATX power supply testing. I have no idea if Mac Power supplies are similar and can be tested that way.

Greg Blank
11-Jul-2011, 17:03
Every electronic device with a power supply works like this: power switch on and plugged into a powered socket & device lights up,....mac/pc its all the same....just depends on the design how to read the lighting up :)

vinny
11-Jul-2011, 17:39
Now I'm wondering if the power supply is something I can easily replace myself? I'd rather not sink a bunch of $$ into this to find out it's dead but the software is already installed (i do have the disks but have had issues installing Screen software in the past) and would be much faster to use than the old supermac i currently use.

JohnnyV
11-Jul-2011, 17:51
Change the motherboard battery! Seriously!

Greg Blank
11-Jul-2011, 18:52
Layman's terms....P -ram battery.....could work!

Change the motherboard battery! Seriously!

Greg Blank
11-Jul-2011, 18:58