PDA

View Full Version : Cambo SCX - Only for Studio

Hailu Shack
16-Apr-2001, 00:28
Hello,

This appears to be a very solidly made 4x5 monorail, with geared movements and rigid framing. I've been using a Graflex press camera for the last 2 years - with very good results actually. However, I'm looking for greater flexibility for architectural exterior photography.

Are any of you using it outdoors for this purpose? Do you find that a recessed lensboard is sufficient or is a bag-bellows required for 90-65mm lenses?

It appears to be a heavy-weight, one of those where you drive - not hike/trek - to your location and then set-up your outfit. Am I right?

By the way, HOW MUCH DOES THIS WEIGH?

Again, illumination you can provide would be appreciated.

Thanks, Hailu Shack

ps: Are geared movements simply a luxury, as I suspect, or are they really required for some types of composition? (the alternative that I might consider (of the non-Graflexs) is the

james norman
16-Apr-2001, 20:54
i use the cambo 45nx, which i believe is very similar to the scx. it has been my primary field camera for HABS/HAER work over 15 years, and i have found it to be an extremely rugged and durable piece of equipment. while i am generally able to drive failry close to architectural subjects, many of the engineering resources i have photographed have been in very remote places - i have hiked many a mile with my cambo on its bogen, with a bag full of kodak readyloads. a recessed board is fine for a 90mm, but bellows might be in order for anything wider - the camera can probably do a bit more, but the standard bellows isnt flexible enough to move when it is that compressed.

Scott Walton
17-Apr-2001, 13:22