PDA

View Full Version : Scanning of 6x17cm trannies.

Jason Hall
13-May-2011, 03:45
I am fairly new to using LF panoramic and although I have been capturing some great images with the Fuji GX617 camera(Velvia RVP 50 &100),I am not sure of the best resolution to have scans made for eventual printing at around 100cmx40cm.
I have had some Imacon scans done which look reasonable-although colours are a bit lacklustre compared to the trannies on a lightbox,but the file sizes are 850mb+ which are difficult to manipulate in PS etc.The files are supplied as tiffs should I compress them into JPG and if so will I lose quality?.
The sharpness and clarity of these trannies is incredible when compared to my 'digital' captures and I really want advice on how to preserve this quality through to the final print,any advice would help in saving my last vestiges of sanity!.

Nathan Potter
13-May-2011, 11:37
Work backwards from the resolution you want on the 100 X 40 cm. final print. Generally digital prints appear to be high quality when outputted at 300 dpi. which is near the limit of eye resolution at arms length.

For your situation that would require a scan resolution of about 12,000 X 5000 pixels for the Velvia (60 Mp). That equates to roughly 100 l/mm or 50 lp/mm. (10um scan spot).

Well you can almost pull this off with an Epson V 750 scanner at 2400 spi but I think you'll do better by scanning with a 5 um spot at about 5000 real spi. But at 5000 spi you're stuck with a large file as you have discovered although it seems to me that should still be less than your 850 MB experience. Any compression will have an adverse effect when working on the reduced file size in Photoshop. To see what you can tolerate work on only a reduced section of the original, the manipulations will go much faster.