PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 poor man's enlargement

fsibold
9-May-2011, 19:24
I have some 8x10 negatives and I would like to enlarge them. I have no 8x10 enlarger, so I did contact prints.
I took pictures of this contact prints with a Pentax 6x7 (150mm lens and extension tube).
I enlarged one of the Pentax pictures to 16x20.
I'm a newbie in enlarging.
Did somebody use this technique with succes ? Has somebody a recommandation, except buying an 8x10 enlarger !

ic-racer
9-May-2011, 19:56
Seems reasonable, but I'd think that if you were there with the 6x7cm camera in the first place the results would be better than going though the trouble of the 8x10in negative.

How did they come out?

Leigh
9-May-2011, 20:00
I would suggest making an 8"x10" enlargement from your 6x7 negative and comparing it to the original print.

That will tell you what fidelity you can expect from your method.

As racer pointed out, unless you're planning to have an 8x10 enlarger in the future to take advantage of the high-quality negatives, you're introducing additional time, effort, and expense into the process but deriving no benefit therefrom.

- Leigh

BetterSense
9-May-2011, 21:06
That's not completely accurate. 8x10 cameras, with their different physics and movements, can still impact your photography the way a 6x7 camera cannot.

Vaughn
9-May-2011, 21:45
If your enlarger can handle 4x5's, that would give you a little more a little better enlargement with the 4x5 neg, it having about 3x the acreage of the 6x9 (everything else being equal, of course).

I am assuming you just have a few 8x10 negs to enlarge and this will not be your standard way of producing work.

The high-end way to go about it would be to have the 8x10 neg scanned, Photoshop the scan to your heart's delight, and then have a negative made from the file at the size you want the print , and just contact that onto sliver gelatin papers. The learning curve and the expense is a bit steep.

matthew klos
9-May-2011, 22:19